Thirty Three

I’m 33 years old.  HOLY SHIT.  How the hell did that happen?  Thirty three..!!  

Life goes by way too fast.  I’m guilty of getting caught up in things that don’t matter…things I can’t control…things that are nothing but a colossal waste of time, energy, and…well…life!  

I’m reminded of my mortality every birthday that I celebrate.  My father died when he was young, only 39 years strong.  He was a heavy smoker and developed lung cancer; it was diagnosed very late.  Looking out the window of his room at Memorial Sloan Kettering in New York City, down at the bustling streets below, he remarked to my aunt, “This is not where I belong.  I should be down there.  This isn’t where I should be.”

Two weeks later, he passed on.

I don’t know how much time I have left on Earth.  It could be until I’m 39.  It could be until I’m 109.  

It could be until I’m 33.

But, I’ll tell you what: every fucking day I’m alive, I make the most of it.  Do the same.  Stop and breathe life in during your “daily grind”.  There is beauty all around us; open your eyes, heart, and mind so you can appreciate it.  Find your happiness, find your passion.  Take pride in what you do.  Help others.  There truly is no better feeling than helping someone accomplish the impossible.  Be a positive force of energy; the world has enough negativity to deal with.  You are responsible for the energy you bring to situations.  Be constructive.  Be the force it needs to come to a peaceful conclusion for all. 

Thirty three.  

I’ll tell you what.  This is going to be the best year yet.

Let’s fuckin’ play.

Mike D

About Mike D

I love CrossFit, being outdoors, cycling, music, football (no team in particular), and futbol (Manchester United and the Portuguese National Team).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thirty Three

  1. drive80 says:

    Ha, love it.

    Frustrated that people don’t quickly and easily understand what your company offers?

    Would it help if I said we can fix that?

    http://www.drive80.com

    >

  2. Nate Bradley says:

    Happy Bday!!!

Leave a Reply

