Are You With Me?

Stanley and Brad, in the Maw, gritting through.

Stanley and Brad, in the Maw, gritting through.

I wrote this a long time ago…it’s been almost 3 years since it was originally posted. But, the words ring clearly to this day.

I’m going to bleed today. I’m saying this without bravado. It’s a matter of fact. I’m going to bleed today.

Any type of deadlift always tears me up. I’ve got bruises, divots, and all sorts of scar tissue running up and down my shins. I know that every time I bring that bar up, it’s going to take a little piece of me with it.

Yet, no matter the pain, I go in for another pull. And another. And another. I’m not sure if non-CrossFitters understand the things we do and, honestly, I don’t expect them to. But, I hope they respect the fact that CrossFitters push their minds and bodies to the utmost limits of their capabilities.

This brings up the question of “Why?”. Why do CrossFitters push themselves to the brink? I won’t attempt to answer that for the masses; we all have our own reasons.

As for me, every pull that draws blood, every workout I grind through, and every sweat angel I leave reminds me of how far I’ve come…and how much farther I must go.

So, am I crazy?

Or, are you with me?

About Mike D

I love CrossFit, being outdoors, cycling, music, football (no team in particular), and futbol (Manchester United and the Portuguese National Team).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

